Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer in Boca Raton
As shocking as it may be to most people, more than 682,000 hit-and-run accidents are reported each year around the United States. In 2019, the state of Florida, alone, reported over 105,000 hit-and-run accidents, according to the department of Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV). The Sunshine State has one of the highest rates of hit-and-run fatalities per capita when compared to all other states throughout the country.
Victims of hit-and-run accidents are often left with debilitating injuries. They are forced to deal with pain and suffering all with no one to immediately hold accountable for their injuries
If you or someone you love has been injured in a hit-and-run accident in Florida, you need a hit-and-run accident attorney. Call Your Damage Lawyer by Chad J. Robinson, PLLC today to discuss the circumstances surrounding your Florida hit-and-run crash and get the legal counseling and the support you need after being injured.
Our Boca Raton hit-and-run lawyer has more than a decade of experience handling some of the most complex Florida car accident cases, including hit-and-run accidents. Call us at (561) 564-0233 or fill out our online contact form today.
What Is a Hit-and-Run Accident?
By definition, a hit-and-run accident is exactly what it sounds like. It is simply when a negligent driver strikes another party with their vehicle and then flees the scene without stopping to assist the victim or alert the authorities.
Unfortunately, hit-and-run accidents are a terribly regular occurrence in Florida, and they are one of the leading causes of death among pedestrians. With so many gorgeous places to visit within walking distance in Southern Florida, it’s not surprising that pedestrians are everywhere taking in the sites.
Sadly, there are many negligent drivers who leave the scene of an auto-pedestrian crash, almost without a second thought. Altogether, hit-and-run accidents currently account for roughly 25% of all deadly pedestrian collisions.
Consequences for Driving Under the Influence in Florida
In Florida, drivers who are found guilty of hit-and-run offenses can be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances surrounding the accident. Leaving the scene of an accident that results in only damage is considered a second-degree misdemeanor, which can land a person in jail for up to 60 days and result in fines up to $500.
Hit-and-run accidents involving injuries are considered a third-degree felony and are punishable by up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines. Those who are involved in hit-and-run accidents that result in death can face up to 30 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
Although hit-and-run accidents are likely to result in criminal charges, this does not impact your ability to secure compensation through civil court remedies. Filing a Florida personal injury claim against a negligent driver can be done with or without criminal proceedings. Working with a knowledgeable Central Florida accident attorney or Southern Florida personal injury lawyer can help you to fully understand the legal options available to you.
When victims are harmed in Florida hit-and-run accidents, it is crucial that they seek legal guidance from a reputable and responsive Florida injury attorney as soon as possible. A Southern Florida hit-and-run accident attorney can make a world of difference when it comes to locating at-fault drivers and ultimately, obtaining the compensation that you rightfully deserve.
All drivers are required to do certain things if they are involved in a collision in the state of Florida. These things include:
- Stop- If a driver is involved in a collision with another vehicle, they are required to stop immediately at the scene of the accident.
- Render Aid- If someone has been injured in the accident, the uninjured driver is required to render aid if at all possible, to the injured victims who are involved in the accident.
- Exchange Information- A driver is required to exchange information with the victim in the accident. This includes providing your full name, address, and your insurance information.
When a hit-and-run accident occurs and a driver doesn’t stop, it’s often because the driver is already doing something illegal. That means that the driver is probably driving under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs, or they may be driving without a license or car insurance.
In some pedestrian hit and run accidents, the driver isn’t even aware that they hit a person. This leaves many victims of Florida pedestrian hit-and-run accidents and Florida bike accidents left without anyone to hold accountable for the subsequent injuries that were caused.
Pursuing a Personal Injury Claim Once the Driver Is Located
If the driver who hit you is located, you can hold them accountable for the injuries you sustained as a result of the accident. You do have to prove that the fleeing driver was liable to be able to hold them accountable. A vast majority of all car, truck, motorcycle, and pedestrian accidents are a direct result of negligent driving.
All drivers in Florida are required to use reasonable care to avoid injuring themselves and injuring others who share the roadways. So, what that means is, that they must be as careful and cautious as any other prudent person would be if they were in the same situation.
A driver engages in careless or reckless behavior and violates this duty of care by:
- Or some other form of distracted driving
More than 3 million people are injured in motor vehicle accidents in the United States each year. Studies show that approximately 2 million people are left with permanent injuries. An injured victim must prove that the driver breached his or her duty. They must also show causation.
What that means is that the driver’s breach of duty is connected to the injuries that the victim sustained. When a driver flees the scene because they were under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you are able to use negligence per se in an effort to get compensated for your injuries and losses related to the accident.
What Does Negligence Per Se Mean?
It means that the person was negligent as a matter of law. That’s because it is a criminal act to drive under the influence of alcohol and or drugs in the state of Florida. If the state convicts the driver of a DUI, you are only required to show that the driver’s decision to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs caused your injuries.
Each collision has the potential to cause injury. Anytime a driver flees the scene of an injury accident, it is a crime. Whether you live in Boca Raton, Orlando, Palm Beach, or Ft. Lauderdale, a Florida hit-and-run accident can quickly leave you with severe mental and emotional burdens.
Victims are frequently overwhelmed, unsure of what to do, and desperate for answers. These struggles, as well as the ensuing legal battles, are only made worse when a seriously negligent or blatantly criminal driver is involved.
What to do After a Hit-and-Run Accident
Time is absolutely critical in the aftermath of a Florida hit-and-run accident. The longer you wait, the less chance you have of finding the culprit and holding them accountable for their actions.
After being involved in a hit-and-run accident, it is crucial that you take several steps to provide yourself with the best chances possible to find the at-fault driver. Some things you can do are:
- Take note of the model and color of the vehicle. Although there are several vehicles that may match the description of the one involved in your accident, it can help law enforcement and people in your community to spot the vehicle and take notice of any damage.
- Get information from witnesses. People who witness your accident can be an invaluable asset for helping you get the justice and compensation you need and deserve. These people can help provide descriptions of the driver, the vehicle, and other critical details that they remember.
- Write down any part of the license plate you remember. Even a partial license plate number, combined with the color and model of a vehicle, can help police locate the at-fault driver.
- Watch the vehicle as it leaves. Noting the direction the vehicle leaves in after your accident can help police determine an applicable perimeter of where the driver may be. In some cases, drivers will hide in areas that they think are out of sight immediately following the accident. Knowing the direction the vehicle fled in can help police search for it easier.
- Call the police immediately. Do not waste any time following a hit-and-run Call the police immediately and tell them what happened. Provide the 911 operator with the color and make of the vehicle, the direction in which the driver fled, and any partial plate information available. The 911 operator will immediately notify patrol officers who can begin looking for the vehicle.
- Gather Evidence. Take pictures of the scene. All pictures of your vehicle should include the areas that were struck by the hit-and-run driver. In some cases, the point of contact will have paint and other debris from the colliding vehicle. This information can be used to identify the paint type and determine the model, year, and make of the suspects’ If in any way possible, take a picture of the fleeing vehicle and its license plate.
- Seek medical attention. Even if you do not feel as though you are injured, you need to seek medical attention as soon as possible. You may have internal organ damage, soft tissue injuries, or other potentially life-threatening injuries that need to be addressed. Seeking medical advice also helps you create a paper trail to document your injuries.
- Contact an attorney. Never sign anything or accept any type of settlement agreement. Instead, consult with a Florida personal injury attorney who can review the circumstances surrounding your accident and help you determine legal options available for you.
Florida hit-and-run accident attorney Chad J. Robinson has more than a decade of experience helping accident victims hold wrongdoers accountable and maximize their recoveries. Our team strives to alleviate the stress and struggles that so many victims face as they navigate the complicated legal system.
What Happens if the Driver Is Not Identified?
Holding the at-fault party liable is crucial as any Florida hit-and-run accident can be an extremely expensive ordeal. Many victims are left with towering medical costs, lost wages, property damages, and a variety of other financial burdens that only make the mental and physical pain and suffering worse.
If the driver is located, their insurance company can be the target of a lawsuit to help you recover compensation and alleviate the financial burdens you face related to:
- Medical treatment, both present, and future
- Long-term costs of care for rehabilitation, therapy, and more
- Lost wages due to recovering and attending appointments
- Lost earnings if you are forced out of work
- Repairing or replacing your vehicle
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Loss of consortium
- And more
However, if you are unable to identify the at-fault driver, you may still have legal options available to you. In such cases, you will have to engage in actions against your own insurance policy. In general, you must have uninsured motorist coverage (UM) as part of your policy. These policies are available to provide you with compensation for damages sustained during a Southern Florida or Central Florida hit-and-run. When you utilize uninsured motorist benefits, you are not responsible for paying the losses you suffered through no fault of your own.
You will need to review your uninsured motorist policy to determine what coverage you have and the maximum amount of coverage you purchased. This will have a major impact on your ability to obtain full and fair compensation for your injuries and damages as the accessible compensation is limited to the amounts provided under your selected policy.
Working with a knowledgeable hit-and-run accident attorney in Southern Florida can help you determine what options are available. Our team at Your Damage Lawyer by Chad J. Robinson, PLLC can review your insurance policy, determine the coverage available for you, and fight to ensure that you are able to maximize your recoveries. Contact our law firm today to see how our Florida personal injury attorney can help protect your legal rights after a hit-and-run accident.
Never Let Your Insurance Company Take Advantage of You
Although you are paying for your insurance coverage, like all other situations, insurance companies tend to be self-serving. They do not want to pay you the maximum amount of compensation available. Instead, they may attempt to deny your claim, delay processing, or underpay you for your damages.
Insurance companies are notorious for low-balling victims with minimal settlements, and the fact that you pay them has no influence over their actions whatsoever. Instead of accepting a low settlement offer from your insurance company, it is important to first retain the legal guidance of a Central Florida personal injury attorney.
Florida accident attorney Your Damage Lawyer by Chad J. Robinson, PLLC will fight to safeguard your legal rights and aim for maximum compensation from your insurance provider. Next, our team will discuss whether a bad-faith action against your insurance company is appropriate.
When insurance companies wrongfully deny compensation to you after you file a valid claim, they may be held liable for covering all your damages. Contact Florida personal injury attorney Your Damage Lawyer by Chad J. Robinson, PLLC to discuss the circumstances surrounding your accident.
What Are the Most Common Injuries Car Accident Victims Endure?
Being involved in a car accident can have a debilitating impact on a person’s life. This is particularly true when people are left with serious and life-altering injuries. In many cases, victims have to undergo immediate medical treatment for their injuries. Depending on the severity, victims may have to go through multiple surgeries and months of therapy and rehabilitation.
Each car accident is truly unique. The factors contributing to the crash, the type and number of vehicles involved, and various factors can influence the type of severity of injuries victims are left to endure.
Some of the most common injuries our Central and Southern car accident legal team helps victims recover from include:
- Burn injuries
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Head trauma
- Broken bones
- Amputation injuries
- Muscle or joint injuries
- Whiplash and other soft tissue injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Neck injuries
- Internal Injuries
Although there are various treatment options available for victims, towering medical costs can be challenging to deal with. Unfortunately, there is no way to guarantee that the treatment options available for accident victims will be enough to help them recover 100% from their injuries. Many victims are left to face life-long issues that stem from their accidents.
For personalized guidance, schedule your consultation by calling our firm at (561) 564-0233 today.
Satisfied Clients and Their Stories
“Chad Robinson was the right attorney for our Insurance Default lawsuit.”- Karla B.
“Chad Robinson proved to be professional, strategic, and a great negotiator.”- Tracey H.
“He was very responsive and made sure he took care of us from the very beginning all the way to the end.”- Dino F.
See Why People Choose Us
We Are Experts In Your Unique CircumstancesWere you injured in a car accident? Did you have a slip-and-fall accident in a grocery store? Do you have an insurance dispute you cannot resolve on your own? Every year, many people deal with stressful personal injuries or insurance claims and help isn’t easy to access for the majority of them. Many people don’t know what to do when they have a claim because the trauma is too challenging to work through. That's where we step in, and stand by your side.
Small Firm, Large ResourcesWe may look small, but our firm is mighty! We have the skills, resources and dedication to obtain the results you deserve.
Experienced Trial LawyerWhen you’re dealing with the stress of an injury, you’ll want a lawyer who has what it takes to get your case the best possible result.
No Recovery, No FeeHiring Your Damage Lawyer by Chad J. Robinson, PLLC to represent you for a personal injury case won’t cost you anything! We don’t get paid unless you do!
We Fight For YouChad J. Robinson is a personal injury and insurance claim attorney that won’t back down until you have the best possible result for your case.